Selling My Company: A Sequins of Events

Aubrie Pagano
5 min readNov 5, 2019

I never knew procrastination until I began writing this post. How do you sum up seven years of experience, the better half of a decade, into 1,000 words? How do you express a lifetime worth of learning and professional growth in a blog post? How do you explain the emotional dualities and seismic ego distortions of selling your company without sounding cliche and trite?

the bosses: Shelly Madick and Aubrie Pagano (moi)

Well, in delaying this post for months, I have tried to unpack my heart and loosen my fingers to announce to you all that my co-founder, and I have officially sold Bow & Drape.

After a sequins of events (pun intended, obviously. Do you even know me?), Bow & Drape was acquired by Win Brands Group, a rollup of digitally-native brands. The common thread across Win Brand Group’s portfolio is that each company offers a differentiated product experience to the end consumer. B&D is no exception. Our sparkle of genius (☆) is allowing shoppers to customize their purchase, and we have grown that initial idea into an award-winning brand that celebrates self expression with high quality goods. We are hugely excited about this next chapter. Now, back to the premise: what do I say about this whole entrepreneurial journey?

In writing and rewriting this, I have come to the realization that, actually, the best way to tell my story is not through my own, but through others. Our…

--

--

Aubrie Pagano

Thinking about the future of commerce. General Partner @alpacavc, Co-founder @bowanddrape, BK based